Author Topic: Best material for crappie condos  (Read 3237 times)

Offline crappieman

• Crappie Keeper
Best material for crappie condos
« on: October 14, 2014, 01:33:54 PM »
I'm thinking of building some crappie condos and wonder what is the best material to use.  Also where is the best place to put them.

Offline T-Slab

• Crappie Keeper
Re: Best material for crappie condos
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2015, 07:08:41 PM »
There is a ton of stuff that can be used.  PVC, Bamboo, Brush, Wood Strips, Tree limbs, etc.  Really no help on where to place them as I'm still learning.  Ideally in the creek channels or on edge of them maybe points to.

Offline SK

• Crappie Trophy King
« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2015, 07:42:31 PM »
PVC is at the top of my list since it's rather hard to find using SI & it last longerthan most other material. ...
As far as where it really depends on the lake & the habits of the fish, depth is a big factor but don't forget to think of the wind or areas protected from certain wind directions....
Me I have several "spots" with structure in different depths & with protection from different directions of wind....
SOME GO FISHN, ME I GO CATCHN & ALWAYS FEED'EM A JIG CAUSE IT'S FASTER THAN CHASEN A MINNER IN A BUCKET!!!
HOPE YOUR JIGS STAY WET.....

REGARDLESS OF HOW MANLY YOU THINK YOU ARE WEARING YOUR PFD CAN SAVE YOUR LIFE.....

Offline JohnH

• Crappie Dink
« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2015, 07:55:29 PM »
In the past I used wood stakes to make a stake bed.  I just tried pvc and am going about using pvc in the future.  Cost is a little less and they are easier to make using the pvc.

Stake beds aren't hard, it just takes time to get it right.

Offline lakerunner

• Crappie Dink
« Reply #4 on: April 04, 2015, 08:32:38 PM »
I prefer pvc but haven't had time to build any for some time due to work pressures.

Offline ezgoing

• Crappie Slabmaster
« Reply #5 on: April 05, 2015, 06:58:19 PM »